Shooting portraits in a street fashion

Sthlm, 2010: The kids are all right

I took a break (well – kind of) from shooting street life this weekend and got my hands dirty on family portrait photography. We went for a natural look, shooting outside nearby the familys neighborhood and at the family’s favourite café.

This was my first time ever doing this kind of work, but I really liked it. It may not come as a surprise since I´m all in on the documentary style, so this kind of portraits suits me well. I actually think I will do this again some day if I get the chance. Ok, enough rambling: here´s one image from the café. Maybe not your ordinary “happy kids”-photo, but I like it. It feels honest.

10 thoughts

  1. This style of photography has attracted me from the time I seriously took up a camera 5 years ago. Whether it is posed or not, the appearance of a candid view of people going about their daily lives has always seemed a more honest representation, even if posed. This is what we do and how we live our lives. Long story short: I love the concept and the photo is excellent.

  2. @Glenn: Thanks, I couldn´t agree more …

    @Matti: I´ve made a squared crop too, but haven´t decided which version gonna be the final one. I think cutting off the top may loose to much of the context, but at the same time it would focus more on the kids.

    I believe the current version works best in larger print sizes which hopefully is how it´s coming out in the end.

    Thanks,
    Jimmy

  3. Strange this post is totaly unrelated to what I was searching google for, but it was listed on the first page. I guess your doing something right if Google likes you enough to put you on the first page of a non related search.

    • Well, you can´t blame Google for having an interest in street photography. After all, Google streetview is the most productive street photographer in the world ;)

Comments and feedback